Atheist Frontier - Questioning what's Real

Library - Theology - Islamic (Moslim, Muslim)


Islam (a word meaning "submission" in Arabic) is a monotheistic religion that originated in the 7th century CE.  Islam has been a prominent facet of many middle-eastern cultures (in particular), and eventually gained some popularity in many other parts of the world (very prominently in a few countries).  Although there are a variety of interpretations of Islam, many Muslims believe that a prophet named Muḥammad ibn ʿAbd Allāh ibn ʿAbd al-Muṭṭalib ibn Hāshim (often shortened to "Muhammad," sometimes spelled "Mohammed," etc.) is the final messenger from their deity named Allah Subhaanahu Wa Ta'ala (or more commonly referred to simply as "Allah").

Deities:   Supernatural agents:   Beliefs:   Traditions:
  • Allah Subhaanahu Wa Ta'ala
  • Muḥammad ibn ʿAbd Allāh ibn ʿAbd al-Muṭṭalib ibn Hāshim (prophet)
    • Alternative spellings:  Muhammad, Mohamad, Mohamed, Mahamed, etc.
  • Angels
  • Divine books (e.g., The Holy Qu'ran)
  • Fate (Qadar)
  • Jinn (purely spiritual creatures with free will who were made from smokeless fire by Allah)
    • The Jinn are often regarded as defective, bad, or evil, and under many denominations they also occupy washrooms and so to blind them a prayer before entering the washroom is practised
  • 1 male virgin (a reward to females to sexually satisfy them in the afterlife)
  • 72 female virgins (a reward to males to marry them and fully serve them in the afterlife)
  • Jannah (Heaven and Paradise)
    • Men who make it to heaven are rewarded with 72 virgin females who will marry him and serve him (including sexually because every man admitted into paradise is also rewarded with an eternal erection)
    • Women who make it to heaven are rewarded with 1 virgin male who will only satisfy her sexually
  • Jahannam (Hell)
  • There are no deities other than Allah (all other deities are works of fiction)
  • There are no messengers other than Muḥammad (any other claimed messengers are assumed to be frauds)
  • Men are superior to women
  • Right-handed people are superior to left-handed people
  • Praying while facing in the direction of Mecca
  • Praying 5 times per day (most denominations)
  • Annual donations to Islam (intended to be used for good deeds)
  • Ramadan (includes one month of fasting)
  • Pilgrimage (every Muslim is expected to do this at least once in their lifetime, as long as it is affordable)
  • Strict dress codes for women

Islam is organized into "The Five Pillars of Islam," which are five main generalized sub-categories that can be described as follows:

  1. Faith (Shahadah), in Allah and Muḥammad
  2. Prayer (Salah), must be practiced 5 times per day (most denominations)
  3. Annual donations (Zakah)
  4. Fasting (Sawm) during the festive month of Ramadan
  5. Pilgrimage (Hajj) to Mecca at least once in one's lifetime
© 2010-2020 Inter-Corporate Computer & Network Services, Inc., unless otherwise stated.  All rights reserved.
All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.